Hello, Florida Insurance.

x

Provider #363610

View Available Courses Here


Continuing Education (CE) Requirements


This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.
 

Course Level Requirements

All of Cape’s courses are intermediate level courses.   The courses have been designated by the Florida Department of Financial Services as intermediate level.  It is intended for the student who has a basic knowledge with the subject matter or who has limited experience with the subject matter.

CE-9902 & CE-9908 categories are good for all license types including title (but not Adjuster).

Continuing Education Requirements (Residents)

 

License Type

License Type Number

Compliance cycles ending 10/31/2014 or later

Life

02-16 & 02-14

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-214)
19 hours of Elective credits

Health

02-40

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-240)
19 hours of Elective credits

Life and Health

02-15 & 02-18

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-215)
19 hours of Elective credits

General Lines

02-20

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
19 hours of Elective credits

Personal Lines

20-44

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
19 hours of Elective credits

Customer Representative

04-40 & 04-42

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
5 hours of Elective credits

Industrial Fire and Burglary, Motor Veh. and Mech. Breakdown

02-21 & 02-33

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
5 hours of Elective credits

Title

04-10

3 hours of Ethics
7 hours of Standard

Public Adjusters

03-20

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-320)
*19 hours of Elective credits

All Lines Adjusters

06-20 & 05-20

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-620)
19 hours of Elective credits

Limited Surety (Bail Bond)

02-34 & 02-37

5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-237)
9 hours of Elective credits

*Public Adjusters (03-20) can only satisfy elective credits by taking CE courses specifically approved for Public Adjusters.

 

Course Subject Requirements (Residents)

•Elective hours may be taken in any approved course except for title agents and public adjusters.
• All licensees who sell flood insurance must meet the minimum training requirements established by FEMA – a one time 3 hour training course.
• All health agents must complete 8 hours of initial long term care insurance training, 2 hours of the initial 8 must be in Florida specific Long Term Care Partnership training and agents must complete 4 hours of additional training in long term care each biennial period thereafter.


• Each licensee must complete a 5-hour update course specific to their license type. When two or more liecnese are held, the licensee must complete a 5-hour course specific to at least one license type held.  Below you will find a list of available course authorities for the 5-hour course and how the requirement correspoonds to each license type.

#5-hour Course AuthorityCorresponding License Type
5-215

Life, Health, and Annuity 5-hour course

Life including variable annuity and health, or life and health agents (e.g. 2-15 or 2-18)

5-214

Life and Annuity 5-hour course

Life and/or annuity agents.  (e.g. 2-14 or 2-16)

5-240

Health 5-hour course

Health Agents  (e.g. 2-40)

5-220

General Lines 5-hour course

General Lines or personal lines agents, customer representatives, or limited customer representatives, and industrial fire and burglary agents. (e.g. 2-20, 20-44, 4-40, 4-42, 2-33)

5-620

Adjuster 5-hour course

Adjusters, except public adjusters.  (e.g. 5-20, 6-20).

5-320

Public Adjuster 5-hour course

Publice Adjusters (e.g.3-20)

5-237

Bail Bond 5-hour course

Bail bond agents (e.g. 2-34)

Compliance Date

End of agent's birth month following the second anniversary of the first license issuance date, and biennially thereafter.

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Independent self-study online or written courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Classroom
• Interactive Online
• Seminar

Exam Requirements

Online Interactive self-study courses have no monitor requirement, however a sworn acknowledgement must be signed by the student and another person stating that the student did not receive any outside help or consult written material while completing the examination.

Self-Study Correspondence courses - Students will sign an Acknowledgement of their understanding that:

  • The course examination was completed unassisted by any person
  • A violation of such standards shall result in the loss of course credit.
  • If the student is employed by an Agency or other Corporate Entity, the Acknowledgement is signed by a Manager or Supervisor.
  • If the student is self-employed, a sole proprietor, a partner, or the exam is taken online, the Acknowledgment is signed by a Disinterested Third Party (Someone who has no family or financial relationship to the student, or who is a licensed agent).

Carryover Credits

Up to 24 excess hours may be carried over to the next reporting period.

Course Repetition

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a two-year period.

Non-Resident Requirements

• Non-resident Florida licensees who comply with the CE requirement in their resident state are exempt from Florida CE. Nonresident adjusters may meet the adjuster CE requirement of their resident state or any state’s CE requirement where an adjuster license is held.
• Non-resident agents must comply with the LTC training for this state or another state, which meets the NAIC LTC Model training outline.

Exemptions

• Individuals with a limited lines license that does not have an examination requirement.
• Individuals with any of the following licenses: dental representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown agent and crop hail and multiple peril crop agents.

Credit Reporting

Cape reports credits to the Florida Insurance Department within 14 days of course completion. A course completion certificate is provided for the agent’s records.

 

Contact Information:

If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

Florida Department of Financial Services
Bureau of Agent and Agent Licensing
Room 419 Larson Building
200 E. Gaines St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Phone: 850.413.3134
Fax: 850.488.8253
http://www.fldfs.com/

Contact Cape:

Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921

Phone: 800-729-7363
Fax: 888-303-1828
Or email us below

 

View Available Courses Here

Continuing Education

Webinar CE

Evening classes now available! (6 - 9:45 pm ET)

No Exam: Live Classes on your Computer

Convenient, Easy, and Affordable

View Courses

Continuing Education

Self-Study CE

Online and Textbook Courses

Take Courses on your Schedule

Variety of Topics

View Courses

Continuing Education.

Features.

• Live, online, & paper courses
• Friendly customer service
• Next business day reporting

• Former students receive 10% off
• 24 Self-Study credits for only $39

Why Choose Cape?

• Friendly, knowledgeable customer service representatives to assist your every need
• No hidden charges
• Multi-State approvals on many courses
• Credits reported next business day in most states (where applicable)
• Former student discounts
• More choices: classroom, written and online self-study
• Print your own certificate of course completion (when allowed by your state agency)
• Unlimited number of exam retakes (when allowed by state agencies)
• Same day shipping on orders received before 2pm Eastern Time (Mon-Fri)
• 100% satisfaction guaranteed

Have Questions? Call us at # 800-729-7363 or reach us by email at info@capeschool.com.